1080 Keewatin St,
Thunder Bay, ON, P7B 6T7

The Thunder Bay Art Gallery Board of Directors has 16 members, 12 are elected from the membership and 4 are appointed by organizations in our community. The Board works to uphold the mandate, implement the Strategic Plan, and make the vision of the Gallery a reality. The Board of Directors meets monthly at the gallery.




Christine joined the Art Gallery Board in 2018. Christine served in senior leadership positions until retiring in 2015 from Confederation College where she was Executive Director of Strategic Planning and Organizational Development. Christine brings her passion for excellence in leadership to the Board and her expertise in organizational planning will help guide the Gallery in the coming years.



A board member since 2014, John is retired from the Ontario government where he supported community development in the culture, sport and tourism sectors for over 34 years. He has a keen interest in amateur sport, photography, the arts, and digital communications. John has a strong commitment to growing his community and has volunteered for a variety of organizations including the United Way of Thunder Bay. A lifelong resident, John joins his wife Debbie in striving to make Thunder Bay a vibrant place for all.




Katherine brings more than 12 years’ experience in the real estate, property management and appraisal industry to her position on the Art Gallery Board. She has been a Board member since 2016. Katherine is a Realtor and Residential Appraiser (CRA P. App) at Avista Realty Group Ltd., and a Right of Way Agent with the IRWA. Katherine also holds a degree in Landscape Architecture. Supporting her profession through volunteer commitments, Katherine is an Executive Board Director with the Thunder Bay Chapter of the Appraisal Institute of Canada and Chapter 29 of the IRWA. She is a past Board Member of the Thunder Bay Chamber of Commerce.



Dr. John Akweniiostha Hodson (York University) is of Mohawk descent, turtle clan, and director of the Maamaawisiiwin Education Research Centre in Thunder Bay. For more than 20 years, Dr. Hodson has worked in Indigenous education and has published widely on the subject. Dr. Hodson is also an accomplished Indigenous artist working in various media, including birch bark, porcupine quills, leather and bead work.


A member of the Art Gallery board since 2015, Clint is a familiar face at the Thunder Bay Community Auditorium where he provided administrative leadership for several years. He has also provided management guidance to the Atikokan Intergenerational Centre for Arts & Alternatives, Live from the Rock Folk Festival, and Shelter House Thunder Bay. Clint is a long-standing member of Lakehead Rotary Club. Clint’s experience in fundraising, marketing, and change management is a great asset to the Gallery.


Mitchell brings 12 years’ experience in civil engineering and infrastructure development to the Gallery Board. Born and raised in Thunder Bay, Mitchell has spent his career focusing on civil design, construction, and maintenance. Mitchell is passionate about the outdoors, Northern Ontario, and our community. He is excited to be involved with the New Waterfront Gallery project and looks forward to the positive impact the project will have on city residents.


A board member at the Art Gallery since 2015, Martin has participated in the arts in Thunder Bay in many capacities. He is the president of the North of Superior Film Association. Almost always carrying a camera, Martin is a regular contributor to The Walleye. Martin was the Communications Officer at Fort William Historical Park until his retirement in 2015. He received a Certificate of Appreciation in 2010 from the Ontario Public Service and a Thunder Bay Achievement Award for outstanding community service.


Mark has enjoyed a rich career in the visual arts as an educator and artist. He served as Chair of the Department of Visual Arts at Lakehead University until his retirement in 2015. He helped to develop the vibrant visual arts program that now attracts more than half its students from outside Thunder Bay. A talented printmaker who earned his MFA from the prestigious Pratt Institute in New York, Mark has participated in dozens of group and solo exhibitions.


A board member since 2014, Louise owns and operates the Ahnishnabae Art Gallery which showcases the work of nearly 200 artists from Northwestern Ontario, Canada, and the United States. The gallery is dedicated to the memory of her late husband, Roy Thomas, who is recognized as one of Canada’s important Woodland artists. An Indigenous woman from the First Nations community of Sucker Creek, AB, Louise is committed to the importance of contemporary Indigenous art. In 2010, Louise was honoured with the Cultural Business Award at the Thunder Bay Arts and Heritage Awards.




Bruce is the Indigenous Language Professor at Confederation College. A member of the Muskrat Dam First Nation, Bruce is bilingual in English and Anishininiimowin (Severn Ojibwe). Bruce is committed to the revitalization of his native language and what it can contribute to strengthening the values of Anishinaabe culture. Before joining the College, he was the Coordinator for Aboriginal Education in the Faculty of Education at Lakehead University. He is also an alumni of Lakehead University. As the appointed representative from Confederation College, Bruce holds traditional knowledge which enriches the cross-cultural connections within the Art Gallery Board.




Kristy is Associate Professor of Art History and Chair of the Department of Visual Arts at Lakehead University. Kristy received her PhD in Art History from Queen’s University in 2008 and has taught at Queen’s, Mount Allison University, and Lakehead University. In 2009, she held a Research Fellowship in Canadian Art at the National Gallery of Canada. She has been a member of the Art Gallery Board since 2016.







Born and raised in Thunder Bay, Lesley returned to the city in 2012 after a successful career as a public library administrator in Southern Ontario. Lesley’s most recent position was as CEO of the Belleville Public Library and John M. Parrott Art Gallery. Before Belleville, she had a 20 year career in the Toronto Public Library system, where she managed programs, collections and services at the Toronto Reference Library. Lesley is an active community volunteer with longstanding membership on the TVOntario Regional Councillors Advisory Board, the Ontario Trillium Foundation’s Northwestern Grant Review Team and Thunder Bay Community Foundation.


Past Presidents

Honourary Presidents  –  John & Annette Augustine

Mark Clara                     2018-19

Heidi Uhlig                    2010-18

Heather Decker           2008-10

Christine Bates           2006-08

Laurie Hill                   2004-06

Dorothy Piccinin        2002-04

Bruce Stonehouse     2000-02

Gloria Cyr                1997-2000

C. “Butch” Petrone      1996-97

Margaret R. Page         1993-96


Lil Bergamo                       1991-92

Christopher Morden         1990-91

Pauline P.A. Tomlinson     1988-90

Marie Clarke                      1986-88

John R. Bick                      1984-86

Annette H. Augustine       1983-84

Roy H. Piovesana              1979-83

David Delgaty                   1978-79

Kenneth Morrison             1976-78

John R. Augustine            1975-76